Foundation For Contemporary Arts Announces John Cage Award Recipient For 2014

New York, NY, January 15, 2014

Foundation for Contemporary Arts (FCA) is pleased to announce the winner of the John Cage Award for 2014. Selected by FCA’s Directors, this year’s recipient is Phill Niblock (New York, NY).
The John Cage Award is made biennially in recognition of outstanding achievement in the arts for work that reflects the spirit of John Cage. This prestigious $50,000 award was established in 1992 in honor of the late composer, who was one of FCA’s founders. The selection is made from invited nominations. Mr. Niblock has been an active presence in the avant-garde music scene for more than 50 years. Since the 1960s, he has created multi-layered performance installations that incorporate simultaneous events in sound, film, video, and photography. His music is composed of several microtonal drones with nearly imperceptible changes over long durations. He has been Director of Experimental Intermedia, an organization which presents performances by artists incorporating film, movement, and music since 1985, and he has hosted over 1,000 concerts in his downtown New York loft. Niblock received a Grants to Artists award from FCA in 1994. Founded and guided by artists, FCA’s mission is to encourage, sponsor, and promote innovative work in the arts created and presented by individuals, groups, and organizations. Artists working in dance, music/sound, performance art/theater, poetry, and the visual arts are awarded
nonrestrictive grants to use at their own discretion; arts organizations receive project or general operating support by application, and a fund is maintained to help artists with work-related emergencies. Since FCA’s inception in 1963, nearly 900 artists have donated work to raise funds for these grants. The current Directors of the Foundation are: Brooke Alexander, Cecily Brown, Robert
Gober, Anne Dias Griffin, Agnes Gund, Jasper Johns, Julian Lethbridge, Glenn Ligon, Kara Walker, and T.J. Wilcox.

Sarah Rulfs
sr (at)

Share Button